PRIME MINISTERS, 1831— 1931.

William IV.

Earl Grey, 1831.

Viscount Melbourne, July, 1834.

Provisional Government during absence of Sir Robert Peel, Nov., 1834.

Sir Robert Peel, Dec, 1834.

Viscount Melbourne, April, 1835. Victoria.

Viscount Melbourne, June, 1837.

Sir Robert Peel, Sept., 1841.

Lord John Russell, July, 1846.

Earl of Derby, Feb., 1852.

Earl of Aberdeen, Dec, 1852.

Viscount Palmerston, Feb., 1855.

Earl of Derby, Feb., 1858.

Viscount Palmerston, June, 1859 (died Oct., 1865), succeeded by Lord John Russell.

Earl of Derby, June, 1866. (retired, Feb., 1868), succeeded by Benjamin Disraeli.

W. E. Gladstone, Dec, 1868.

Benjamin Disraeli, Earl of Beaconsfield, Feb., 1874.

W. E. Gladstone, April, 1880.

Marquis of Salisbury, July, 1885.

W. E. Gladstone, Feb., 1886.

Marquis of Salisbury, Aug., 1886.

W. E. Gladstone, Aug., 1892. (resigned Feb., 1894,) succeeded by Earl of Rosebery.

Marquis of Salisbury, June, 1895.

Marquis of Salisbury, Nov., 1900.

Edward VII.

A. J. Balfour, July 12, 1902.

Sir Henry Campbell-Bannerman, Dec. 5, 1905.

H. II. Asquith, April 16, 1908. George V.

H. If. Asquith, Dec., 1910.

David Lloyd George, Dec. 7, 1916.

Andrew Bonar Law, Oct. 23, 1922.

Stanley Baldwin, May 22, 1923.

James Ramsay Macdonald, Jan. 22, 1924.

Stanley Baldwin, Nov. 4, 1924.

James Ramsay Macdonald, June, 1929.

James Ramsay Macdonald (National Government), Nov. 6th, 1931. PRIVY COUNCIL.— This is a bod)’ of public men who act as the King’s advisers in all matters of state administration or policy. The number of councillors is not fixed, so that additional members may be brought into the body whenever their presence is needed. The Council consists of the King, members of the Royal Family, the two Archbishops, the Bishop of London, the Lord Chancellor and various Judges, the Speaker of the House of Commons, certain Governors of Colonies, the First Lord of the Admiralty, and other eminent men. A privy councillor is addressed as the Right. Hon., followed by his name or title.